Most "repair shop software" was built for phone screens, bike chains, and small engines — then relabeled for instruments. FretWork was built on the bench, for the bench. Here's how it stacks up.
| FretWork | Shopflow | Music Shop 360 | Orderry | RepairShopr | LuthierPro | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Built for instrument repair | Yes | Yes | YesRetail/POS-first — repair is a module | NoAlso serves auto, HVAC, jewelry, bikes | NoAlso serves phones, computers, watches | Yes |
| Minimum monthly price | $4.99/mo | $60/moFirst 2 techs included; +$20/tech/mo after | UndisclosedEntry tier ($99/mo) excludes repair/work orders | $39/moHobby: 2 employees, 100 orders/mo cap | $59.99/moBilled annually; $69.99/mo month-to-month | $9/moFree tier for directory only — Pro required for shop management |
| Cost for 10 instruments/mo | $4.99/moStarter — up to 10 included | $60/mo | Undisclosed | $39/mo | $59.99–69.99/moStarter — 75 tickets/mo, 1 user | $9/mo |
| Cost for 50 instruments/mo | $49/moShop — up to 50 included | $60/mo2 techs still within free tier | Undisclosed | $39/mo | $129.99–139.99/mo2 users → Repair Shop tier | $9/mo |
| Cost for 100 instruments/mo | $99/moStudio — 100+ included | $100/mo2 free techs + 2 × $20/mo | Undisclosed | $75/mo | $129.99–139.99/mo | $9/mo |
| Pricing model | Flat rate by instrument volume — no per-seat fees | Base fee + $20/tech/mo beyond first 2 | Custom quote | By employee count + order-volume cap on entry | By ticket volume + user seats | Flat rate — one Pro tier |
| Setup fee | None | None stated | Historically $750Currently waived via promo — verify current terms | Not listed | Not listed | None |
| Free trial | 30 days — no charge until month 2 | None advertised"Get started" opens a demo booking | Not listed | 7 days | 14 days | 7 days |
| Self-serve signup — no demo call | Yes — live in minutes | NoEvery plan opens a Calendly demo booking | NoEvery tier requires "talk with an expert" | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Unlimited technicians on every plan | Yes — no per-tech fee | NoFirst 2 free, then +$20/tech/mo | Not listed | NoCapped per tier | No1–10 users depending on tier | YesUnlimited staff on Pro |
| Customer repair status page | Yes | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Yes |
| Automated customer notifications | Yes | Not listed | Not listed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Stripe invoicing | Yes | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | No |
| Square payments (M2 reader, Tap to Pay) | Yes | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | No |
| Online booking with deposit | YesPublic booking page, deposit via Square or Stripe, auto-applies to ticket | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Service reminder emails | YesFilter lapsed customers by days since last service | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Shop directory listing | YesFree listing on fretwork.io/repair-shops — searchable by ZIP | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | YesDirectory on free tier |
| Live support from repair professionals | Yes[email protected] — U.S. repair professionals on the team | Not listed | Not listed | NoUkraine-based, ticketing only | NoU.S.-based but forum/ticket only | NoEuropean company, email only |
| Built by working repair professionals | Yes40+ combined years of repair experience | LikelyAffiliated with Nashville repair veteran Joe Glaser — not explicitly credited on Shopflow | Not stated | General SaaS company | General SaaS company | Not stated |
Pricing and feature data sourced from vendor public marketing pages, August 2026. Competitor pricing and features change — verify against each vendor's current pricing page before deciding. Spot something out of date? Let us know.
Every product in this comparison can create a work order. Here's what's specific to FretWork.
What is the cheapest instrument repair shop software?
FretWork is the lowest-priced option at $4.99/month for up to 10 instruments. RepairShopr starts at $59.99/month, Shopflow at $60/month, and Orderry at $39/month. FretWork includes every feature and unlimited technicians at every price point — you pay for volume, not seats.
How does FretWork compare to RepairShopr?
RepairShopr is a general repair platform serving phone, computer, watch, and other repair businesses alongside instruments. FretWork was built specifically for instrument repair. FretWork starts at $4.99/month vs RepairShopr's $59.99/month, and includes unlimited technicians on all plans while RepairShopr charges per user seat.
Which options let me try without booking a demo call?
FretWork, Orderry, LuthierPro, and RepairShopr all offer self-serve signups. Shopflow and Music Shop 360 require a demo conversation before you can access the product — even at entry pricing. FretWork's trial is 30 days with no charge until after the first month.
Is there software built specifically for luthiers and guitar repair?
FretWork and Shopflow are both built specifically for instrument repair. FretWork starts at $4.99/month and is self-serve. Shopflow starts at $60/month and requires a demo call at all plan levels. Orderry and RepairShopr serve a broader range of repair industries.
No credit card until after your first month. No sales call. Setup takes under 10 minutes.
Start your free trialNo setup fee · Cancel anytime